Alfred 23 Harth / Nicola L. Hein / Joshua Weitzel

Schraubensuche in Tokio


Alfred 23 Harth - Bass Clarinet, Clarinet
Nicola L. Hein - Guitar

Joshua Weitzel - Guitar and Shamisen




digital, Off - Record Label (Japanese Series), Belgium, 2021

Civil disobedience - လူထုမနာခံမှု
part 3/4

Solidarity Sampler for Myanmar, featuring 89 artists from all over the world.

digital, Syrphe label, 2021. Compiled and produced by C-Drik Fermont. 

Walk My Way - Volume Four


Featuring Janet Feder, Martin Vishnick, Ikbal Lubys, Edward J. Gibbs, Joshua Weitzel, Guram Machavariani, Eric Wong, Garth Erasmus, and Bill Horist


 Released in April 2021 by Orbit577, New York City.
CD + Download

Takatsuki Trio Quartett 
Live in Hessen with Matthias Schubert and Dirk Marwedel


Matthias Schubert - Tenor Saxophone
Dirk Marwedel - Extended Saxophone
Rieko Okuda - Piano, Viola, Voice

Antti Virtaranta - Double Bass

Joshua Weitzel - Guitar, Shamisen


Recorded in Kassel and Wiesbaden in 2019.


CD, Creative Sources, Records, 2020

degem-cd 18
Compilation of the German Association for Electroacoustic Music (DEGEM) 
Curated by Stefan Fricke

Contributions by Marc Behrens, Gerald Fiebig, KedArY, Jörg Lindenmaier, Nicola L. Hein/Joshua Weitzel, Clemens von Reusner, Maximilian Marcoll, Wolfgang Motz, Monika Golla, Peter Kiefer, Klarenz Barlow, Julia Mihály, Ralf Hoyer and Johannes S. Sistermanns.

Massimo Magee / Joshua Weitzel / Tim Green

Live at Salon Villa Plagwitz


Massimo Magee - Tenor Saxophone, Clarinet
Joshua Weitzel - Guitar, Shamisen

Tim Green - Drums


released by Orbit577, New York City, 2020.


Massimo Magee - Sopranino and Alto Saxophone, Electronics, Compressor Pump
Joshua Weitzel - Shamisen
Ken Ikeda - TX7 Synthesizer

Recorded at Oto Project Space, London.


Kassel Experimental Music Productions 2020



by Interrogation Duo

Massimo Magee - Tenor Saxophone, Clarinet

Joshua Weitzel - Electric Guitar and Laptop

Kassel Experimental Music Productions 2020



Contemporary Shamisen Duo


Saito Ryota - Shamisen
Joshua Weitzel - Shamisen


Label: Kendra Steiner Editions, San Antonio, TX

Mastering: Joshua Weitzel

Sleeve Artwork by M.P. Landis



"In terms of the intimacy and almost-telepathic duo-union of the players, I can only compare this music to the FACE TO FACE-era Spontaneous Music Ensemble duo recordings, though Saito and Weitzel bring very different cultural backgrounds to the table than the SME. The five beautiful and languid pieces of sound sculpture are full of textural variety and tension, and the many kinds of extended techniques used on the shamisen (which starts with blowing, scraping, bowing, etc. and goes way beyond) will have you thinking there are more sound sources than two shamisen instruments." - Bill Shute

Re-Released on KEMP:

Illegaler Grenzübertritt

Online-Release on KEMP, 2018.

A unique collaboration of Göttingen improvisation pioneer Ove Volquartz on the deep clarinets and the young Kassel-based improvisers Sven Krug on double bass and Joshua Weitzel on guitar. Versatile improvisations shifting between melodic sensitivity and abstraction.

Ove Volquartz - Bass- and Double Bass Clarinet
Sven Krug - Double Bass
Joshua Weitzel - Electric Guitar

Live at Kulturhaus Dock4, Kassel. August 11, 2018.
Recorded by Ove Volquartz and Joshua Weitzel. Mixed and Mastered by Joshua Weitzel.
All Compostitions by Ove Volquartz (GEMA), Joshua Weitzel (GEMA) and Sven Krug.


Ulrike Lentz - Flutes
Joshua Weitzel - Shamisen

Label: Factor Vac, Brisbane AUS
Mastering: David Stockard

Sleeve Artwork: Rachael Archibald


Dave Stockard, Mirei Yazawa, Ross Lambert, Tom Wheatley, Joshua R. Weitzel, & Massimo Magee




London (2015)

Sleeve Artwork By Montse Gallego

Mastering: David Stockard



Available upon request at or at Hundred Years Gallery, 13 Pearson St., London E2 8JD